by Richard Crist, Nevada County

 

     PG&Es bogus "safety shutdown" was to protect the safety of their company and the safety of their stockholders investment from the possibility of another expensive fire due to equipment malfunction. Do they malfunction from high winds or a lack of maintenance to that equipment. Or is this shutdown just a test to gauge peoples reaction for future shutdowns, as some out-of-state news outlets reported?

 

     It's certainly not for the safety of the public to whom it serves, why should PG&E start thinking about that now? Either way PG&E keeps on failing the public, and has therefore violated its Trust to the public. This shutdown of power throughout Northern California is just another example of PG&Es misdeeds.

 

     Instead of being ready, willing, and  able to serve the people, PG&E has chosen to become self-serving putting the interests of their company and stockholders above that of the public. When a "Public Utility" shifts their duty away from the public, this public utility then loses its franchise to use public property, and all other rights including its virtual monopoly on the energy market.

 

     The immoral character that PG&E has displayed in indiscriminately removing power from everyone has essentially discriminated against the elderly, the sick, the poor and disenfranchised rendering them destitute without an alternative means to provide power for necessary needs for survival.

 

     Over the years all the people, young & old, rich & poor have accepted the services of PG&E and the people have a legal right to demand that these service be continuous, with reasonable efficiency, and with reasonable fees for those services. This shutdown was not reasonable, nor was trying to provide an alternate source of electricity reasonable.

 

     Having to buy a generator, buy and store fuel, is not a reasonable fee to replace electrical services that PG&E arbitrarily withdrew from the public. What if you could not afford a generator and the cost to run it. Or if you couldn't find a generator (they were all sold out), or find the fuel to run it (there were no gas stations open), For most people, they had to toughen up and do without power.

 

     Shutting down a large portion of California because of the possibility that PG&Es faulty infrastructure (mismanagement?) might malfunction and cause a fire is not sufficient reason to deprive millions of people the essential need of electricity; and if this was a test to see how people would react, then the management of PG&E needs to be replaced with competent and forward thinking people, to replace this group of clowns. And, if that doesn't happen then PG&E needs to nationalized. Being able to arbitrarily shut down the powers-grid is to much power for a private company to have, especially one ran by clowns.

 

     PG&E also has to stand accountable for all the hundreds of millions of dollars in losses that the public has incurred, and what businesses and local governments have incurred. This is a dark time for PG&E and this shutdown is saying that they haven't learned any lessons from recent misdeeds, they need to be ashamed of themselves and they need to payback $-for-$ for this atrocity that they needlessly caused.

I am writing concerning your comment about County Supervisors to blocking on Facebook. 

 

Our County Supervisor, Andy Vasquez, will not respond either on Facebook or his county page to any questions that my husband and I both have asked him concerning the construction on Lindhurst Ave, south of the Shell gas station. I realize that he is upset with us for not voting for him last election but he could at least respond to questions from his constituents regardless of how we vote. Mr. Vasquez is suppose to be representing us regardless of how we vote.

 

Another question is concerning all of his campaign signs that are still are still up around Erle Rd. southbound 70 off ramp and Simpson Lane. My understanding was all campaign signs must be within a certain time of the election.

 

Vonnie Sick

Edgewater

 

Editors Note: Yuba County Supervisors are above the law; so they think.

I think that we can all agree, that in our nation’s capital, there is a lot of political strife and division. The nation’s business is not going to get done, for at least one more challenging year in the US Congress.

 

Let me share some timeless wisdom from Paul’s letter to his fellow pastor Titus on the isle of Crete. From the King James version: Titus 3:1 &2.

 

“Put them in mind to be subject to principalities and powers, to obey magistrates, to be ready to every good work.

 

To speak evil of no man, to be no brawlers, but gentile, showing all meekness unto all men.”

 

So Democrats, please, let Americans decide at the ballot box, who  our President should be in 2020. For most voters have seen enough fighting over Trump’s impeachment in our Congress in 2019.

 

Larry Matulich

Stockton, CA

It seems former Acting Attorney General Rod Rosenstein was one of the main Swamp Rat characters in the “Take Down Trump” effort from the Git-Go…according to Judicial Watch President Tom Fitton’s October 2, 2019 missive that follows:

 

 (Washington, DC) Judicial Watch released 145 pages of Rod Rosenstein’s communications that include a one-line email from Rod Rosenstein to Robert Mueller stating, “The boss and his staff do not know about our discussions” and “off the record” emails with major media outlets around the date of Mueller’s appointment.

 

Judicial Watch filed the lawsuit after the DOJ failed to respond to a September 21, 2018, Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) request (Judicial Watch v. U.S. Department of Justice (No. 1:19-cv-00481)). Judicial Watch seeks:

 

Any and all e-mails, text messages, or other records of communication addressed to or received by Deputy Attorney General Rod Rosenstein between May 8, 2017, and May 22, 2017.

 

The time period referred to in this suit is critical. On May 9, 2017, Rosenstein wrote a memo to President Trump recommending that FBI Director James Comey be fired. That day, President Trump fired Comey. Just three days later, on May 12, Rosenstein sent an email assuring Robert Mueller that “The boss and his staff do not know about our discussions.”

 

In a May 16, 2017 email, sent the day before Mueller’s appointment, Rosenstein emailed former Bush administration Deputy Attorney General and current Kirkland & Ellis Partner, Mark Filip stating, “I am with Mueller. He shares my views. Duty Calls.  Sometimes the moment chooses us.”

 

And on May 17 Rosenstein appointed former FBI Director Robert Mueller to investigate Russian meddling in the 2016 presidential election.

 

Also, during the same time period, between May 8 and May 17, Rosenstein met with then-acting FBI Director Andrew McCabe and other senior Justice Department FBI officials to discuss wearing a wire and invoking the 25th Amendment to remove President Trump.

 

The documents also show that, again during the same time period, Rod Rosenstein was in direct communication with reporters from 60 Minutes, The New York Times and The Washington Post. In an email exchange dated May 2017, Rosenstein communicated with New York Times reporter Rebecca Ruiz to provide background for this article about himself. Ruiz emailed Rosenstein a draft of the article, and he responded with off-the-record comments and clarifications.

 

  • In an email exchange on May 17, 2017, the day of Mueller’s appointment, Rosenstein exchanged emails with 60 Minutes producer Katherine Davis in which he answered off-the-record questions about Mueller’s scope of authority and chain of command:

Rosenstein: “Off the record: This special counsel is a DOJ employee. His status is similar to a US Attorney.”

 

Davis: “Good call on Mueller. Although I obviously thought you’d be great at leading the investigation too.”

  • * On May 17, 2017, in an email exchange with Washington Post journalist Sari Horwitz and the subject line “Special Counsel” Rosenstein and Horwitz exchanged:

 Rosenstein: “At some point, I owe you a long story. But this is not the right time for me to talk to anybody.”

 

Horwitz: “Now, I see why you couldn’t talk today! Obviously, we’re writing a big story about this. Is there any chance I could talk to you on background about your decision?”

 

“These astonishing emails further confirm the corruption behind Rosenstein’s appointment of Robert Mueller,” said Judicial Watch President Tom Fitton. “The emails also show a shockingly cozy relationship between Mr. Rosenstein and anti-Trump media reporters.”

 

On September 11, Judicial Watch released 14 pages of records from the Department of Justice showing officials’ efforts in responding to media inquiries about DOJ/FBI talks allegedly invoking the 25th Amendment to “remove” President Donald Trump from office and former Deputy Attorney General Rod Rosenstein offering to wear a “wire” to record his conversations with the president.

 

On September 23, Judicial Watch released a two-page memo, dated May 16, 2017, by then-Acting FBI Director Andrew McCabe detailing how then-Deputy Attorney General Rod Rosenstein proposed wearing a wire into the Oval Office “to collect additional evidence on the president’s true intentions.” McCabe writes that Rosenstein said he thought it was possible because “he was not searched when he entered the White House.


Court Forces State Dept To Release Smoking Gun Clinton Email

 

The Clinton email scandal is far from over. A federal court ordered discovery in a major Judicial Watch lawsuit that will ultimately result in nearly 20 witnesses having to testify under oath to our attorneys. And, and thanks to the court’s orders, we’re also getting new documents proving the Clinton email cover-up. Specifically, the State Department released a previously hidden email showing that top State Department officials used and were aware of Hillary Clinton’s email account.

 

It appears that the State Department produced this email in 2016 in redacted form, blacking out Clinton’s personal email address and the discussion about Clinton’s wanting to keep her email address closely guarded.

 

We sought the email after a former top Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) State Department official testified to us about reviewing it between late 2013 and early 2014.

 

Despite a recent court order requiring production of the email, the DOJ and State Departments only produced it 10 days ago after we threatened to seek a court order to compel its production.

 

In other words, we just caught the State Department and DOJ red-handed in another email cover-up. They all knew about the Clinton email account but covered up the smoking-gun email showing this guilty knowledge for years.

 

Charlie’s Comments:

 

Oh, what a twisted web they weave.  Well, if  “equal justice under the law” is to be served, Hillary deserves not to be concerned about matching colors with her everyday apparel for awhile…not much you can do with shockingly bright orange jump suits…and a hefty fine of at least 60 to 70% of the oodles and oodles of millions of dollars the Clintons pocketed with their Pay for Play Clinton Foundation Scam.  

 

Put that hefty fine of millions toward Building the Border Wall she wanted to become Open Borders…that would really be a backward slap of Karma.

By Judy Mann

 

My name is Mary and I am getting old... please do not neglect me...

 

I see at times I am being ignored my streets can no longer handle today’s modern-day traffic.

 

My name is Mary and I am getting old... please do not neglect me...

 

I see my Arches Standing proudly to identify the historic district.

 

My name is Mary I am getting old... please do not neglect me...

 

There’s a grand Lake in the middle of my town and its lighted fountain showcases its beauty....

 

My name is Mary... I am getting old... please do not neglect me...

 

Let’s not forget the many memories of families gathering together in the many parks.

 

My name is Mary and I AM, getting old... please do not neglect me...

 

Let’s Rediscover the beauty! Let’s Revive the History....

 

My name is Mary and I am still ALIVE...please feel free to share all my stories....

 

My town is full of memories of long ago. There’s so much History never to be forgotten...

 

My name is MARY... and I AM, ALIVE, please share all my stories....

 

Today all I need is some Tender Care, Fresh Water, a Face Lift or Two, and then, I will be Good as New....

 

My name is MARY OF MARYSVILLE...I AM TURNING 170 YEARS OLD…

                                                                                                                                

BE KIND TO ME…

Water is the foundation resource on which communities are built.  In response to a question to my North Yuba Water District division representative Gary Hawthorne, "What will happen to the water the NYWD has permits for that cannot fit down the proposed 42" pipe?", the response was, "We will decide that with our Master Plan. Some ideas would be to sell it to fund future projects, build new conveyance systems that don't exist today to serve new customers or provide redundancy, build water storage tanks and conveyance systems to enhance fire protection, and so forth."

 

A master plan is certainly welcomed and overdue.  The water district is in the best position to lead this effort.  I would expect such an undertaking to begin by asking the water customers and communities, who are served by the water district, what they would like to see happen with this resource, the people's water.  The Directors of the NYWD are temporary custodians entrusted to manage this most valuable natural resource as the people wish it to be managed.  

 

Much like a general plan update, I look forward to the water district organizing town hall meetings and special master plan workshops giving the people the opportunity to ask questions, get answers, and to help shape this master plan for how the people's water will be utilized.

 

Charles Sharp

NYWD Customer

Oregon House, Ca

The following is an article by Molly Prince of the Daily Wire.  (BOLD FACE are Tom Homan’s remarks)

Former ICE director Tom Homan slammed Rep. Pramila Jayapal (D-WA) and her Democrat colleagues on Thursday, September 26th for holding President Donald Trump and his administration to a different standard than they had for former President Barack Obama.

 

During the House Judiciary Committee’s hearing on immigrant detention facilities, Jayapal criticized the Trump administration for skirting Congressional authority and financing agency operations with millions of dollars that were initially slated for other functions.

 

“I’d like to remind you that under the Obama administration we did that most of the years he was president. We moved money around [the Department of Homeland Security] — it’s called reprogramming,” Homan responded. “We did that under the Obama administration and I don’t remember any hearings on that.”

 

Homan also fired back over Democrats’ seeming outrage regarding family separation.” During the Obama administration, the federal courts ruled that the government is prohibited from detaining children for longer than 20 days. Since the 20-day window is generally not long enough to process the detained families, children and their accompanying adults are consequently separated as not to violate what is referred to as the Flores Settlement Agreement. However, Democrats have been lambasting Trump for residing over policies that keep children in cages.

 

“You are quick to point out the cages that were built under the Obama administration. I was there. Family detention — we had 100 family beds under the Obama administration and we built 3,000 more,” Homan said. “When there was a surge in (2014 and 2015), Congress was quick to give all the money we needed to build detention facilities, get transportation contracts. We reprogrammed money out of the majority of the years he was president — that was fine.”

“If this is about transparency, let’s be factual about it,” he added.

 

Jayapal, who serves as the subcommittee’s chairwoman, tried to defend her position by stating that she was never in favor of those policies, even while Obama was in office. She subsequently cut off Homan’s time.

“Be honest with the American people. You can’t point out faults in the Trump administration when it happened under the Obama administration,” he interjected. “That’s dishonesty. It’s pathetic and it’s sad.”

Earlier during the hearing, Homan took a shot at Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-NY) and members of her Democratic caucus for vilifying law enforcement officers. The self-proclaimed “radical” congresswoman ignited a firestorm in June after she compared illegal immigrant detention facilities to Nazi concentration camps.

 

While members of the media and some of her Democrat colleagues tried to defend the comparison, she was largely met with backlash for her historical inaccuracy and insensitivity to the millions of Jews who were slaughtered in concentration camps during the Holocaust.

 

“That comparison is 100% inaccurate and it is disgusting,” Homan said during the hearing. “Now forgive me, I didn’t think Nazi death camps had detention standards, I didn’t think they had health care, I didn’t think they had recreation, law libraries, visitation, three squares a day. It’s an insulting comparison.”

 

Rep. Ken Buck (R-CO) later reiterated the offensiveness of the comparison.

“Thank you for saying that,” Homan responded. “I wish someone in Democrat leadership would say that out loud.”

 

“Look, you want to know why there is 50,000 people in detention? You want to know why there are a million illegal entries in the United States? You want to know why we have these issues? Because you have failed to secure the border,” he continued. “You guys failed to work with this president to close the three loopholes we’ve asked for two years to close.” You have failed the American people by not securing the border.”

 

Jayapal again cut off Homan’s time and slammed the gavel for silence.

 

                                      Elijah Cummings,

                                      Rags to Riches!!

 

The Swamp Rats just seem to keep dragging themselves out of their murky habitat…and Rush Limbaugh picked out another morsel.

 

It seems Elijah Cummings, the chairman of the Congressional Oversight and Reform Committee went from owing $30,000 in back custody payments to one of his three previous wives to being over TEN MILLION DOLLARS richer through two separate payments to the tune of FIVE MILLION DOLLRS or more each time. 

 

These were monies paid to his present wife’s two separate companies…one “non-profit” and the other “for profit.”  The money transfers were made by the same outfit, Johnson and Johnson pharmaceutical company.

The “Fly in the Ointment” is that Oversight and Reform means Legislate certain regulations!

 

Aha…so that’s it.  The oldest game in the books for crooked politicians...PAY TO PLAY!!!

 

Richard Crist, OMD

 

     Trump has torn the scab off a very large, politically corrupt, wound, in government, that has been festering for decades; nicknamed “The Swamp.” He has brought the real agenda of the Republican Party into the light, and its stench is overwhelming 70% of the people in the United States. And, you’re legislators are standing around watching it happen.

 

     This shines light on the corruption that also infects the Democratic Party leadership, because they’re also beholden to the 1%. Remember, rich democrats are businesspeople too, and “Big-business” is all about controlling government for their pursuit of profit and more profit, which comes form the environment, deregulation, and from your wallet.

 

     It’s time for the people of the United States to fully understand that the amount of money in politics equals the amount of corruption that’s taking place. The more money it takes for a candidate to get elected, the more power the wealthy have in making choices for you.

 

     Rich people and corporations aren’t usually charitable. They don’t just donate; they make payments to a politicians campaign, to non-profit originations, to charities, and educational institutions. These payments are buying influence and favors, and they expect a good return on their investments; just like any other investment they make.

 

     You have to wakeup and use your common sense. If you want politicians to work for you, don’t support the ones that give tax breaks to the wealthy, reduce your health coverage, gut public education, poison your food and the environment, and who continue to make war, which you and your loved ones fight, die, and pay for. The wealthy 1% are the only ones that really profit from war and they usually get exemptions so they don’t have to risk serving.

 

     All these politicians either pay for their campaign (they are the 1%) or take money from PACs, Political Action Committees that are set-up for the sole purpose of funneling money from the 1% to candidates they want to control. Hiding facts like how much, to whom, and from whom? It’s time to remove the wool they’ve pulled over your eyes.

 

     It’s time to get involved, investigate your candidates, and vote in 2020 for someone that represents your views, your needs, and your economical interests. Vote for a candidate who is arms-length away from “Big-Business;” that means don’t vote for billionaires, most incumbents (you don’t get change with the same crowd), or anyone who take money from PACs.

by Jeff Mcgill

 

Mental Health Programs in America Need Help….                                                  

 

“Oh no, please help” were the last words my daughter said as she lay dying on a sidewalk in a beautiful Washington DC neighborhood. She was the victim of a random act of violence by a person who should not have been on the streets.  The person who did this unthinkable deed to my darling daughter had a history of mental issues.  I do not know the specifics of his illness, other than he was on meds and had been observed in the area acting “strangely”.  The DC police knew of him and were concerned about his issues and behavior. I cannot help but at least partially blame my daughter’s tragic death on the changes in our mental health care system in the past 50 years, that have decreased the options for dealing, helping, holding, and housing people who need help.  It is a failed system.

 

I live in California, where the clearing out of mental health facilities, the reduction of funding, and the lack of mental health professionals available for help has been continually cut for the most part since the late 60’s.  The reasoning and rationale for this social and cultural movement is another lengthy story, but has been followed nationwide by most states.  California prides itself on “leading the nation in change”.  Concerning this particular subject, there is NO pride in the title.

 

Nationwide, help for mentally ill persons is still in decline.  Many of the social violence issues we face today; gun violence, stabbings, sexual assault, kidnapping, robbery, etc.  are often perpetuated by people who need mental help.  Many times, as in the instance of my daughter’s murderer, the person was known to have mental issues, had a criminal record of petty crime, but because of weak laws, could not be held for more than 72 hours at a time. Often, mentally ill people are turned back out on the street, shortly after being brought in for minor issues.  Many times, there is neither a place for them to go or professionals available to help them.

 

I feel that many mentally ill people want and need help, but do not know where to go or who to talk to.  The most seriously mentally ill are incapable of caring for themselves or even seeking help.  While their families try to help, they are also somewhat powerless to help because of the adult age of their mentally ill family members.  I think many of these people, and their families, know they need psychiatric  help, maybe need medication, or have had their medication run out, but they cannot get help or medication because of the downsizing of the mental health support systems these last 50 plus years. 

 

My solution to my mental health concerns are:

 

  1. 1) Increase mental health funding at the national, state, and local level.
  2. 2)Re visit current mental health laws to better help people.
  3. 3) Increase the number of residential and outpatient facilities for the mentally ill.
  4. 4) Increase the number of mental health professionals available to help people.
  5. 5) Develop a nationwide model for observing and holding mentally ill persons who have been identified as needing more help, or as a danger to themselves or society.
  6. 6) Provide an entry and exit model, so that mentally ill persons can get help and return to society, once they are identified as safe. Model to include consistent follow-up for patients.

 

I feel that today’s mentally ill are saying “oh no, please help” also, but often are not heard.  Let’s begin to start helping them. My wonderful daughter, who was a shining light for so many around the world would have loved a cause such as this. Hence, I sadly take on this crusade for her.                             

 

Jeff Magill, Father of Margery Magill

A recent Front Page story in a local Newspaper chronicled three of the numerous errors made by or not detected by Live Oak Finance Director Joe Aguilar.

 

Aguilar and his company, Varinek, Trine, Day and Company were paid over $202,000.00 in the last fiscal year. This makes the numerous errors and oversights all the more alarming.

 

A $267,000,000.00 error not detected by Mr. Aguilar is especially telling.  It was discovered in March by this Author and presented to the Live Oak City Council that same month. The Council and City Staff chose to ignore the oversight rather than deal with it. Making a mistake is one thing but trying to cover up or not take responsibility for it, is an even more serious matter.

 

At this point in time, it is clear Mr. Aguilar should resign from his position. Even if he has performed adequately for a portion of his five years in Live Oak, he’s now become so controversial he really cannot be effective.

 

Let’s hope Mr. Aguilar does the right thing. Live Oak Residents deserve no less.  

 

 Rick L. Dais

Live Oak, Ca.

     Trumps new scandal is with the Ukraine this time, but what about the Bidens. Everyone is pointing the finger at Trump, as they should, but I don't hear anything bad said about Joe Biden, which I see as amazingly bad reporting. If anyone read my article back in May, "MIDDLE-CLASS JOE'S" RICH LOBBYING FAMILY, you know that there is a lot to print about Joe Biden, his family, and their wrong doings.

 

    Joe, Joe's brother James, and his son Hunter were up to their ears in misdealings, which included inside dealing, bribery, fraud, and pulling Hunter out of "the swamp" and hiding him when his father Joe ran for vice-president.

 

     When Hunter was removed as a lobbyist in 2005,  he was given a $1.7 million per year job with a Washington law firm; where he and his uncle James were sued by that company for defrauding them out of $1.2 million. In 2010, James, then a partner in HillStone International, received a $1.5 Billion contract to build 100,000 homes in Iraq.

 

     Then in 2014, Hunter Biden was added as a director to Ukraine’s largest private gas producer, which was under investigation for corruption. During that time, Vice President Biden intervened, by threatened to withhold $1 billion in foreign aid to the Ukraine, if they didn’t fire the prosecutor that was looking into the gas company’s fraudulent activities.

 

     The Dems are all crying, except Pelosi, to impeach Trump, which may or may not be the right thing to do, BUT what about JOE. Joe Biden, and family, got rich while he was a politician, at least Trump was already rich. America will be better a lot off when both are out of politics. Make sure you vote in 2020.

 

Richard Crist, OMD

Nevada City, Ca.

I believe we could get more accurate news from the Cartoon Network than major news outlets. News should be fact based, not news in which facts are omitted, fabricated, exaggerated, or biased. Called fake or counterfeit news, they are close cousins of propaganda and “yellow journalism". Journalists don’t have a license to makeup, alter or interject opinion. If you have an opinion, place it in "letters to the editor" and include your name and city of residence like we do. When asked to substantiate your reports, you refuse, claiming protections under the First Amendment. How are we to believe a word you say? Most journalists have not spent one day in a school of journalism, had they, they were absent during the class on ethics. Anyone can claim to be a journalist, just look at the internet or the MSNBC, ABC, NBC , The New York times and the Associated Press etc... Remember, a good lie is one that contains just enough truth to make it sound credible, like telling a good joke or doing standup comedy. I once took a class called “The Legal Aspects of Journalism". My instructor, a journalist and lawyer, explained when he presented a story to his editor, he was required to have three, verifiable sources. Only then would he consider it fit to print. That standard no longer exists. A couple of the subjects he covered were slander and libel and the difference between the two. He explained that the best defense against charges of slander or libel was the TRUTH. You want to get TRUTH back in reporting, start suing the charlatans writing counterfeit news, slandering and libeling anyone with whom they disagree.

 

Frank Hamrah

Yuba City, Ca.

     In August, I and many others at Marysville City Council would witness a heinous crime against the city. The entire city council except Bill Simmons, would put Crony politics before the good of the city. Whom did they hope to benefit and throw Marysville citizens under the bus for? None other than fired supervisor John Nicoletti, their drinking buddy.

 

    For a few years now Yuba County Water Agency director Charlie Matthews has been flipping the bill to get water from the Yuba River put in Ellis Lake. When River water is used to fill Ellis Lake instead of well water there are less nitrates making the water more clean, clear, and less stinky. The sad thing is all this council had to do was vote to let Charlie pay for the next step of the process.

 

     The bulk of the council kept trying to put it on Yuba County Water Agency putting some sort of algae scrubbers in and not wanting to affect that negatively. Well the algae scrubbers are unproven technology, the river water is known to work. In addition Curt Akins representing Yuba County Water Agency, along with Director/Supervisor Lahey, and Director Charlie Matthews would be for it. Curt Aiken stated that it would be good to have two things going to ensure success of the lake be coming clean.

 

     So how does Nicoletti play in? Well as John has failed at most everything in life he needs to make some money again out of our pockets. He will be running for Charlie's seat in 2020 according to his statement at the Kiwanis spaghetti feed. If most of you don't already know from my posts on Straight Out of Yuba episode 2, Nicoletti is drinking buddies with the mayor and a few other people on the council. 

 

     John of course has to go the opposite way of Charlie and say that it's a bad idea to put river water in the lake. Therefore the city council can't make Charlie, Ellis lake, along with Marysville look good, they have to go against it for John Nicoletti's sake. This was more than evident when they kept talking about getting the Levee Commission involved and John specifically since he is on it.

 

     When you see your public officials out and about let them know that crony politics should not be put before the good of the people. Let them know by voting them out of office and posting all of the bad they've done/doing while in office, and writing about it right here in this wonderful paper. 

 

     The end result was nobody would second Bill Simmons motion to take Charlie's money to fix the lake. You could tell all of their minds had been made up long before the meeting. If they can't even take free money to make Marysville a little better, what business do any of them have in office of any kind?

 

Zach Cross

Loma Rica, Ca.

On my way to punch out my weekly column last Wednesday, I caught conservative talk show host Rush Limbaugh regaling President Trump about his address to the U.N. General Assembly on Tuesday, September 24th. Limbaugh said it was one of the finest speeches he had heard the President give.

 

Well, Jimmy Crickets, our local daily ran a half page article by the L.A. Times on that story headlined “Trump briefly attends the U.N. climate summit… and sure enough.. President Trump’s name was only mentioned once in the article, when they related Trump was not expected to attend the U.N. summit but showed up briefly to listen to India’s  Prime Minister and Germany’s Chancellor Angela Merkel.”

 

That sounds as if Trump had showed up….had a cup of coffee…and left.

 

Trump actually gave a 37- minute address and was covered by two reporters for Reuters, Anne Gearan and Seung Min Kim.

Following is their version of Trump’s visit…and 37 minute address in part to the United Nations General Assembly.

 

UNITED NATIONS — President Trump delivered one of his harshest critiques of globalism here Tuesday at the U.N. General Assembly, promoting the “America First” ethos that has defined his presidency on issues of defense, trade and immigration before a body built on international cooperation.

 

Trump read his address in a somber monotone, rarely punctuating words or pausing for emphasis, but his message for the 74th session of the annual gathering of world leaders was clear as he argued that a view of the world as a global commons had “exerted a religious pull over past leaders” at the expense of their own nations.

 

“The future does not belong to globalists. The future belongs to patriots,” Trump said. “The future belongs to sovereign and independent nations who protect their citizens, respect their neighbors and honor the differences that make each country special and unique.”

 

In his 37-minute address, Trump stressed that all nations must take care of themselves first while adding that the United States would get involved abroad only when its own interests were threatened.

 

He also used his platform Tuesday to take a hard line against Iran as tensions between the two countries escalate following an attack on a Saudi oil facility this month.

 

The United States — joined by Britain, France and Germany this week — has blamed Iran for the attack on the oil facility, and during Tuesday’s address, Trump called Iran “one of the greatest security threats facing peace-loving nations today.”

“All nations have a duty to act. No responsible government should subsidize Iran’s bloodlust,” Trump said. “As long as Iran’s menacing behavior continues, sanctions will not be lifted. They will be tightened.”

 

But Trump’s reluctance to escalate the standoff with Tehran into a military confrontation was on display later Tuesday when he teased a potential meeting with Iranian President Hassan Rouhani, saying that Iran “would like to negotiate” but that the two sides had not agreed to that “yet.”

 

On immigration, Trump issued his characteristic warnings to migrants from Central America making the journey to the U.S. southern border, saying, “If you make it here, you will not be allowed in; you will be promptly returned home.”

His message for those who he claims advocate “open border” policies was more stark. 

 

“Your policies are not just. Your policies are cruel and evil,” Trump said. “You put your own false sense of virtue before the lives, well-being and countless innocent people. When you undermine border security, you are undermining human rights and human dignity.”

 

He said the United States had worked with several countries in Central America and highlighted El Salvador, which signed an “asylum cooperation agreement” last week with the United States in an attempt to divert some of the record numbers of U.S.-bound migrants. Trump was scheduled to meet with the country’s president, Nayib Bukele, last Wednesday, September 25th.

 

Trump said the United States has an “ambitious campaign to reform international trade” and stressed his desire to complete separate bilateral trade agreements with Britain and Japan. He discussed the issue with British Prime Minister Boris Johnson on Tuesday, September 25th and trade is sure to surface when Trump sits down with Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe on Wednesday the 25th — particularly as Japanese concerns over auto tariffs are now stalling a deal between the two

China, the president said, has “embraced an economic model dependent on massive market barriers, heavy state subsidies, currency manipulation, product dumping, forced technology transfers and a theft of intellectual property.” He called for an overhaul of the World Trade Organization, arguing that China should not be able to use it to “game the system at others’ expense.”

 

“I will not accept a bad deal for the American people,” Trump said.

 

 “Iran would like to negotiate. We haven’t really worked that out. They’re here, we’re here, but we have not agreed to that yet. But they would like to negotiate,” he said. “And it would certainly make sense, but we have not agreed to that yet.”

Trump would be the first U.S. president to meet with an Iranian leader since before the 1979 revolution that launched the Islamic republic and its clerical leadership. Direct diplomacy with Iran has long appealed to Trump, as he pursues a dual strategy of tightening sanctions and leaving a door open to talks.

 

The president spoke Tuesday of possible intercessions or support for talks from French President Emmanuel Macron, Pakistani Prime Minister Imran Khan and German Chancellor Angela Merkel. 

 

In his U.N. address, Trump hit on several topics that have become familiar refrains back home and during his campaign rallies — but delivered Tuesday in a much more subdued fashion. 

 

He touted unemployment rates for minority Americans and highlighted his diplomatic efforts with dictators such as North Korea’s Kim Jong Un. Trump also criticized the influence of social media companies, saying they play too much of a role in silencing voices — echoing a critique by some conservatives. 

 

And as he referenced the turmoil in Venezuela, Trump took the opportunity to swipe at socialism, calling it the “wrecker of nations and destroyer of societies.”

 

“Socialism and communism are about one thing only: power for the ruling class,” he said. “Today, I repeat a message for the world that I have delivered at home: America will never be a socialist country.”

 

 “The United States does not seek conflict with any other nation,” Trump said. “We desire peace, cooperation and mutual gain with all. But I will never fail to defend America’s interests.”

 

Charlie’s Comment: Well, I guess Rush Limbaugh was right, Our President had a hard-hitting speech but open for diplomacy.

 

This last “blackout” of true news by our local daily is rather blatant…and another dark spectacle on high ideals of journalism.

If you want to see government corruption or something that smells like it you only have to look at the way the Sutter County Grand Jury report was handled . This is what is wrong with our whole country these people work for the people and the Grand Jury was our watch dog . And it seems like they found out something the good old boys did not like and the tax payers did not need to see this report. And the good old boys and girls stopped it. AND Both of our news papers rolled over and dropped the story they behave like good boys.

Donald Lewis

Marysville, Ca.

As I traveled to the Territorial Dispatch last week to bang out the weekly column, I tuned into Tom Sullivan’s radio talk show to possibly gather some info that I could pass on to the readership. And he had some doozies that I can share with all of you that missed that program.

After listening to President Trump’s 10 or so minute speech from the Oval Office Tuesday January 8th on why we need barriers on our southern border from Mexico...it was enlightening because Sullivan found and plucked a small fraction of President Bill Clinton’s 1995 State of the Union speech and replayed the following portion of his lengthy address regarding illegal immigration from 24 years ago.

Strangely, it sounded almost identical to President Trump’s charted course on the immigration problem President Bill Clinton, in his nationwide address over the radio waves and all television networks said,

“All Americans, not only in the states most heavily affected but in every place in this country, are rightly disturbed by the large numbers of illegal aliens entering our country. The jobs they hold might otherwise be held by citizens or legal immigrants. The public service they use impose burdens on our taxpayers. That's why our administration has moved aggressively to secure our borders more by hiring a record number of new border guards, by deporting twice as many criminal aliens as ever before, by cracking down on illegal hiring, by barring welfare benefits to illegal aliens. In the budget I will present to you, we will try to do more to speed the deportation of illegal aliens who are arrested for crimes, to better identify illegal aliens in the workplace as recommended by the commission headed by former Congresswoman Barbara Jordan. We are a nation of immigrants. But we are also a nation of laws. It is wrong and ultimately self-defeating for a nation of immigrants to permit the kind of abuse of our immigration laws we have seen in recent years, and we must do more to stop it.”

Here are portions of the transcript of President Trump’s address on January 8th. Sounds to me like what President Bill said 24 years ago. You decide!

President Trump: “Every day, Customs and Border Protection agents encounter thousands of illegal immigrants trying to enter our country. We are out of space to hold them, and we have no way to promptly return them back home to their country. America proudly welcomes millions of lawful immigrants who enrich our society and contribute to our nation, but all Americans are hurt by uncontrolled illegal migration.

It strains public resources and drives down jobs and wages. Among those hardest hit are African-Americans and Hispanic-Americans. Our southern border is a pipeline for vast quantities of illegal drugs including meth, heroin, cocaine, and fentanyl. Every week, 300 of our citizens are killed by heroin alone. Ninety percent of which floods across from our southern border. More Americans will die from drugs this year than were killed in the entire Vietnam War. In the last two years, ICE officers made 266,000 arrests of aliens with criminal records including those charged or convicted of 100,000 assaults, 30,000 sex crimes, and 4,000 violent killings. Over the years, thousands of Americans have been brutally killed by those who illegally entered our country and thousands more lives will be lost if we don’t act right now.

This is a humanitarian crisis. A crisis of the heart, and a crisis of the soul. Last month, 20,000 migrant children were illegally brought into the United States, a dramatic increase. These children are used as human pawns by vicious coyotes and ruthless gangs. One in three women are sexually assaulted on the dangerous trek up through Mexico. Women and children are the biggest victims, by far, of our broken system.

This is the tragic reality of illegal immigration on our southern border. This is the cycle of human suffering that I am determined to end. My administration has presented Congress with a detailed proposal to secure the border and stop the criminal gangs, drug smugglers, and human traffickers. It’s a tremendous problem. Our plan also contains an urgent request for humanitarian assistance and medical support. Furthermore, we have asked Congress to close border security loopholes so that illegal immigrant children can be safely and humanely returned back home.

Finally, as part of an overall approach to border security, law enforcement professionals have requested $5.7 billion for a physical barrier. At the request of Democrats it will be a steel barrier rather than a concrete wall. This barrier is absolutely critical to border security. It’s also what our professionals at the border want and need. This is just common sense.

The border wall would very quickly pay for itself. The cost of illegal drugs exceeds $500 billion a year. Vastly more than the $5.7 billion we have requested from Congress. The wall will also be paid for indirectly by the great new trade deal we have made with Mexico.

Some have suggested a barrier is immoral. Then why do wealthy politicians build walls, fences, and gates around their homes? They don’t build walls because they hate the people on the outside but because they love the people on the inside. The only thing that is immoral is the politicians to do nothing and continue to allow more innocent people to be so horribly victimized.

To those who refuse to compromise in the name of border security, I would ask, imagine if it was your child, your husband, or your wife whose life was so cruelly shattered and totally broken. To every member of Congress: pass a bill that ends this crisis. To every citizen, call Congress, and tell them to finally, after all of these decades, secure our border.”

Sure sounds a lot like President Bill.

Current Senate Democrat Minority Ledader Chuck Schumer has mouthed the same words in recent years...and even using the words “illegal aliens” in his vocabulary...as well as President Obama and newly elected(by only 2 votes)House of Representatives Majority Leader Nancy Pelosi who continually parroted the words of President Clinton’s address on “Illegal” immigration... (By only 2 votes, Nancy...better watch your back, babe). Even Hillary Clinton in her campaign in 2016 against candidate Donald Trump was caught on TV saying that “barriers” were needed to stem the tide of illegal entry into our country.

The leadership and most democrats are showing their true colors in a shameless show of brutish disregard for the rule of law in our country...and equally shameless massive group of so-called journalists that propagandize the socialistic goals through unending patterns of “the end justifies the means.”

P.S. Accompanying President Trump on his trip to the Mexican border at McAllen, Texas, were high ranking members of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. Stay Tuned!!!

Dear Congressman Garamendi,

About 12 customers of the North Yuba Water District attended your Saturday May 19, 2018 Town Hall, Marysville, Ca. we were seeking your help regarding our loss of irrigation water for the 2018 season.

Mr. Garamendi, you were very patient and very sympathetic. Mary Jane Griego, your Senior District Representative had briefed you regarding our concerns. Still, you listened to all of us, our concerns and our pleas for help. As a result of our meeting, you directed Garret Durst from your congressional staff to contact NYWD with grant application information.

At our most recent Board of Directors meeting it was announced that a USBR $75,000.00 grant was awarded to NYWD for improvements/maintenance to the Dobbins/Oregon house irrigation system.

We applaud and thank you and your willing staff, for the dedication to public service and the concern for the welfare of your constituents.

Sincerely,

Donna Corson, Dennis & Judy McCarty, Tim Brennan, Karolyn McCall, Jenny Cavaliere, Kathy & Bob Schultz, Gretchen Flohr, Marieke Furnee, Rulik Perla, Asher Perla, The Vinze Family.

I want to talk about "FAKE NEWS" that was printed in the Appeal Democrat on Sunday Jan 6, 2019. Starting that there was no crisis at the Border. This is the same place on TV that they show our Border guards are being stoned and looks like a war zone. There is no crisis if you're a liberal or a socialist they love this and do their best to keep it stirred up and on the front page of the liberal papers and say there's no problem it seems that the democrats hate our great country they have entered bills to try and change this country into a socialist country. It's time to stand up and be counted,

Donald E Lewis

Marysville Ca

It’s time to cut the time a Congressman or Senator can live on the taxpayer’s dollar. I suggest two terms of six months each. They are presently out of touch with the taxpayer.

“Also God only promised you life and death with the option of Heaven or hell when you die. Heaven if you follow his commandments, hell if you don’t.” He said what I have made is good so how can a baby in the womb who is good be killed, when God said it is good?

I only understand most humans are more stupid than the dirt they came from and women are more compassionate than men.

Loyd Simmeroth

Olivehurst, CA

I live in Chico but I consider the Territorial Dispatch to be one of the best local sources for news. I was glad to read Lou Binninger's report of the lawsuit that John Mistler, Charlie Matthews, and the Howard Jarvis Taxpayer's Association are bringing against Yuba County over their illegal Measure K. That measure was obviously a special tax and should have been listed as such and required 2/3's voter approval.

The other issue that concerns me is the use of taxpayer money to run pro-tax campaigns. That's illegal too, but they all do it. In Chico our city and our recreation district have spent hundreds of thousands in staff time and on consultants to put together their separate tax measures. How much did the county of Yuba spend on their campaign?

You can't just vote and turn your back - you have to keep an eye on these people and hold them to the law.

Juanita Sumner,

Chico CA

By Stephen Moore, cnsnews

The first iron rule of American politics is: Follow the money. This explains, oh, about 80 percent of what goes on in Washington.

Shortly after the latest “Chicken Little” climate change report was published last month, I noted on CNN that one reason so many hundreds of scientists are persuaded that the sky is falling is that they are paid handsomely to do so.

I said, “In America and around the globe governments have created a multibillion dollar climate change industrial complex.” And then I added: “A lot of people are getting really, really rich off of the climate change industry.” According to a recent report by the U.S. Government Accountability Office, “Federal funding for climate change research, technology, international assistance, and adaptation has increased from $2.4 billion in 1993 to $11.6 billion in 2014, with an additional $26.1 billion for climate change programs and activities provided by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act in 2009.”

This doesn’t mean that the planet isn’t warming. But the tidal wave of funding does reveal a powerful financial motive for scientists to conclude that the apocalypse is upon us. No one hires a fireman if there are no fires. No one hires a climate scientist (there are thousands of them now) if there is no catastrophic change in the weather. Why doesn’t anyone in the media ever mention this?

But when I lifted this hood, it incited more hate mail than from anything I’ve said on TV or written. Could it be that this rhetorical missile hit way too close to home?

How dare I impugn the integrity of scientists and left-wing think tanks by suggesting that their findings are perverted by hundreds of billions of dollars of taxpayer handouts. The irony of this indignation is that any academic whose research dares question the “settled science” of the climate change complex is instantly accused of being a shill for the oil and gas industry or the Koch brothers.

Apparently, if you take money from the private sector to fund research, your work is inherently biased, but if you get multimillion-dollar grants from Uncle Sam, you are as pure as the freshly fallen snow.

How big is the climate change industrial complex today? Surprisingly, no one seems to be keeping track of all the channels of funding. A few years ago, Forbes magazine went through the federal budget and estimated about $150 billion in spending on climate change and green energy subsidies during President Obama’s first term.

That didn’t include the tax subsidies that provide a 30 percent tax credit for wind and solar power — so add to those numbers about $8 billion to $10 billion a year. Then add billions more in costs attributable to the 29 states with renewable energy mandates that require utilities to buy expensive “green” energy.

Worldwide the numbers are gargantuan. Five years ago, a leftist group called the Climate Policy Initiative issued a study that found that “global investment in climate change” reached $359 billion that year. Then to give you a sense of how money-hungry these planet-saviors are, the CPI moaned that this spending “falls far short of what’s needed” a number estimated at $5 trillion.

For $5 trillion we could feed everyone on the planet, end malaria, and provide clean water and reliable electricity to every remote village in Africa. And we would probably have enough money left over to find a cure for cancer and Alzheimer’s.

The entire Apollo project to put a man on the moon cost less than $200 billion. We are spending twice that much every year on climate change.

This tsunami of government money distorts science in hidden ways that even the scientists who are corrupted often don’t appreciate. If you are a young eager-beaver researcher who decides to devote your life to the study of global warming, you’re probably not going to do your career any good or get famous by publishing research that the crisis isn’t happening.

But if you’ve built bogus models that predict the crisis is getting worse by the day, then step right up and get a multimillion-dollar grant.

Now here’s the real scandal of the near trillion dollars that governments have stolen from taxpayers to fund climate change hysteria and research. By the industry’s own admission, there has been almost no progress worldwide in combatting climate change. The latest reports by the U.S. government and the United Nations say the problem is getting worse, and we have not delayed the apocalypse by a single day.

Has there ever been such a massive government expenditure that has had such miniscule returns on investment? After three decades of “research” the only “solution” is for the world to stop using fossil fuels, which is like saying that we should stop growing food.

Really? The greatest minds of the world entrusted with hundreds of billions of dollars can only come up with a solution that would entail the largest government power grab in world history, shutting down industrial production (just look at the catastrophe in Germany when they went all in for green energy), and throwing perhaps billions of human beings into poverty? If that’s the remedy, I will take my chances on a warming planet.

President Donald Trump should tell these so-called scientists that “you’re fired.” And we taxpayers should demand our money back.

Stephen Moore is a senior fellow at The Heritage Foundation and an economic consultant with FreedomWorks. He is the co-author of ” Trumponomics: Inside the America First Plan to Revive the American Economy.”

Next